February 7, 2012

Is your website for sale… without you knowing?

Posted on 07. Aug, 2008 by in Affiliate Marketing Tips, Blogosphere News, Internet

Someone posted http://bestpicever.com for sale… and it wasn’t even their site! Initially up for auction on SitePoint by the true owner, (and with a current bid of $6,000) they received a number of curious emails referring to a second listing elsewhere. A little investigating showed the site was indeed listed on digitalpoint; a scam that included a word for word copy of the original sales listing but at 1/10th the price!

Read more on Freelancelancetwins.

Faux listing: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?p=8768604
Real listing: http://marketplace.sitepoint.com/auctions/42428

Related posts:

  1. An Extra $100 This Week? Flip A Website…. I Dare You!
  2. Your Own Organic Niche Site + Bonuses for $19.75 (Only 20 For Sale)
  3. Flippa Competitor and Easy Way To Make $10-$100…
  4. Product Review: Special Offer Manager
  5. The GoDaddy.com Domain Sale for August

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Is your website for sale… without you knowing?”

  1. Normal Joe 7 August 2008 at 9:14 am #

    Wow…this is crazy! I guess no one is safe with anything these days! People will always find a way to scam someone.

  2. Enkay Blog 20 August 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    Hey there! I saw you on ImWithJoe.com and I’m trying to discover new blogs so I thought i’d check yours out today. I read about this somewhere else and I think I would really dislike if that happened to me. Although, lots of my content is stolen and reposted elsewhere on a daily basis. I get a trackback that I have to later investigate!

  3. Suite J 21 August 2008 at 2:17 pm #

    Hey Jeni,

    This exact situation happened to me. I had a SitePoiint auction running, and some idiot posted the exact auction word for word for sale on Digital Point. I came across the post because I was looking to buy more in that niche. lol

    I called him out on the thread, and then posted on other threads of his to let the poeple know. I also reported it to Digital Point, but nothing came out of that, so that same guy is probably running around trying to do that scam.

    At the very least, DP could have looked into it/replied to me. But, oh well, they don’t consider it their place to get in the middle of those types of scenarios. It was extremely easy to verify that I owend the site, so I thought it’ be appropriate for them to check it out and ban the guy so he doesn’t scam a buyer out of their money.

    Anyway, I’m a new reader, caught your link from Joe. I’ll be back. :)
    Cheers!
    Jay


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv Enabled

This site uses KeywordLuv. Enter YourName@YourKeywords in the Name field to take advantage.

Sign Up To Our Mailing List for 250 FREE PLR Niche Articles

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Powered by Aweber Wordpress Plugin